How to: Folded Paper Flowers
August 16, 2011, 9:00 am
Filed under: How to | Tags: , , , , , ,

I came across an image on Pinterest late last week of these very cool folded paper flowers. I followed the link to a tutorial by Folding Trees, and found that the flowers were actually part of a traditional Kusdama Ball. A few days earlier, I had made a little arrangement of small vases and bottles on my dining room table, and had planned on buying some fresh flowers for them this weekend. But after seeing this, I thought it might be cool to do a display of paper flowers instead – crafty, unique and they’ll never die! I tore a few pages out of an old atlas of road maps, and got to work folding, cutting and gluing. The only thing I had to buy for this project was floral wire to make the stems, so the whole thing cost me $2.50 (plus I have a TON of wire left for future projects, so probably more like $0.25 in reality).

The Folding Trees tutorial is really easy to follow, with great fold-by-fold pictures. The only thing that I did differently was to use binder clips to keep my petals in place after gluing. The real trick is to be patient and use PLENTY of glue. I tried to use it sparingly at first, but by the end, I was using much more, and it held together much better. Here are a few progress pics, plus the finished project:

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

[...] you’ll need is: paper, glue, wire and some clips. Find the instructions here. Share this:PrintEmailLinkedInFacebookTwitterLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. This [...]

Pingback by HOMEMADE: Folded paper flowers | Welcome to the Coffee House




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 219 other followers

