How to: Tracing Paper and Map Art
February 21, 2012, 9:00 am
Filed under: How to

This idea came to me today at work after I saw this pin. I have an old atlas that I’ve been using for craft projects, and I came up with this little project.

My first thought was to do something directly on the map – maybe a screenprint or some calligraphy. But what I really like about the inspiration pic is how the colors are muted, so I thought it might look cool to have a layer of tracing paper over the map to tone it down.

Materials:
Map or atlas
Tracing paper
Frame

The frame I wanted to use was 8×10, and the tracing paper was 9×12, so I had to cut it down to size. You may be able to skip this step, depending on your paper and frame size.

Next, tape the tracing paper to a regular piece of paper, taping just along the top edge of the paper.

I chose a quote from Thoreau, and used a typewriter font, but obviously you can use whatever combination of words/images you’d like. Send the tracing paper/regular paper combo through a laser printer using the feeder.

Carefully remove the tape.

I pulled the Colorado page out of my atlas (both because I used to live there and I miss it, and because I thought the “wild and free” bit went well with the state). Cut the page down to fit the frame you’ve chosen.

Now layer the tracing paper on top of the map and pop it into the frame!

This is a ridiculously simple project. If you don’t have access to a laser printer, you can always draw or write directly on the tracing paper. I think sharpies would work perfectly.

As always, if you try this project, be sure to come back and share!

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Love this! So simple and the idea could be applied to many different backgrounds. Thanks for the tutorial :)

Comment by Maddy

very clever idea, and such a simple decorating tip! I can just imagine all the fun background/quote combos that would suit my apartment!

Comment by They Call Me Crafty




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 219 other followers

