Before and After: Pennyfarthing Bike Lamp
April 19, 2011, 9:00 am
Filed under: Before and (Cr)after | Tags: , ,

I’ve had a serious thing for antique bike images lately, especially Pennyfarthing bikes. I even used one in the banner of my Etsy shop. So you can imagine my complete and utter GLEE when I discovered this lamp at my local Goodwill the other day!! At just $9 it took about 5 seconds to decide that this was absolutely coming home with me.

I cleaned the dust off of it, then sprayed it with several light coats of Valspar spray paint in Mediterranean, which I had left over from this project. My original plan was to reuse the shade as well, but it was really stained, so I decided to splurge and buy a new one a Target for $8.

So, for just $17, I have a brand new, completely adorable lamp. I can’t believe someone gave this away!


9 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I LOVE THIS! I can’t believe you found that at Goodwill. That just goes to show that you don’t have to spend a ton of money to have something totally adorable. Thanks for sharing 🙂

Comment by Francescaroo

I love this! What a find! I want one of my very own!

Comment by Maayan

So cute! I love the color you decided to spray it. Goodwill can be a very good resource.

Comment by Kaitlyn

That’s really darling, and I adore the color. Have you seen this fabric? I found it while looking for cloth to recover an old card table and had a hard time resisting it even though it’s the exact opposite of the colors I’m looking for.

Comment by Whitney

Love that fabric! Need to figure out some use for that SOON.

Comment by metalandmud

what a lucky find! great shade of blue that you used, too. plus, you could always cover the old stained shade with fabric 🙂

Comment by Molly D

Love it, Sara! Great job. See you Thursday! Can’t wait!

Comment by Faye Schmidle

What a fantastic find ! I restored a roll top desk I found in the trash. You never know.

Comment by carldagostino

Love the color! It looks great:) I love goodwill, I find the coolest items that seem one of a kind.
Kudos on the sweet find!
-m

Comment by ladyemmy




Leave a comment